First Plinth: Public Art Award (formally FIRST@108: Public Art Award) is designed to offer sculptors an opportunity to extend their practice into competing for public art commissions. The winning sculptor is awarded £10,000 towards the cost of producing a large-scale sculpture which will be exhibited in a high profile public space.

Applications are now closed

About the prize

The award is open to any artist working in three dimensions, providing a unique and rare opportunity for the winner to build a track record in the competitive arena of public art.

The winner is awarded £10,000 towards the cost of producing a large-scale site-specific sculpture or installation for the Society’s sculpture terrace. Over the following months the fabrication of the winning work is supported by the award, with the winner receiving mentoring from a team of experienced professionals - engineers, consultants and artists - to ensure the concept is delivered to the exacting standards required of work to be installed in public spaces.

how to apply

Deadline for applications are now closed and will re-open in 2020.

To find out when applications are open, sign up to our monthly Shape & Form email.

This award is generously supported by the Mirisch & Lebenheim Charitable Foundation