Our Patron

The Royal Society of Sculptors was first awarded royal patronage in 1911 when it was recognised for its services to the art of sculpture.

The Society has been privileged to enjoy the patronage of the reigning monarch and gratefully acknowledges the continuing support of His Majesty, King Charles III. 

Image: Portrait of King Charles III, Buckingham Palace, February 2024. Source: The Royal Household

King Charles III - 2024

Our Board

The Royal Society of Sculptors champions sculpture and the artists who create it. We are committed to making the full range of contemporary practice accessible to all and also to promoting high professional and creative standards. 

As such, our work is overseen by our Board, which elects the majority of its members from our community of artists. The remaining members are drawn from other professions and contribute expertise across a range of fields.

Chaired by the President, the Board comprises the Vice President, the Treasurer and up to eleven others, all elected for a three-year term.

The Board is responsible for defining the Society’s strategic vision, policy, procedures and programme. The sculptor members of the Board also review applications to the Society and select new members.

The Society is committed to Equality, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) and has appointed Board member Jane Reeves as EDI champion.

Equality, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) Policy

We have also appointed Bill Price, Director at WSP structural engineers, as our Board champion to lead on sustainability.

Laura Ford PRSS

President - Laura Ford PRSS

Laura Ford studied at Bath Academy of Art between 1978-82 including a period at the Cooper Union School of Art, New York. Then completed an MA at Chelsea School of art 1982-83.Her work is represented in many public collections including; Tate, The Victoria and Albert Museum, Government Art Collection.

Laura's  sculptures are faithful representations of fantasy with sometimes bitter sweet and menacing qualities mixed with tenderness. She uses humour and an acute observation of the human condition to engage with wider social and political issues. Her work is intensely crafted but playful, and she has used a range of media to realise her work including, drawing, painting, performance, set design and has increasingly taken on the challenge of public art alongside museum and gallery shows.

Almuth Tebbenhoff VPRSS

Vice President - Almuth Tebbenhoff VPRSS

Almuth Tebbenhoff was born in Germany in 1949, came to England in 1966 as a student exchange and stayed. She studied ceramics at Sir John Cass School of Art 1972-5, made pots and surreal clay sculpture. In 1981 Almuth set up a studio in Wandsworth and expanded her practice to include metal fabrication. For a while she worked very minimalistic then developed her own style.

Since 1980 Almuth has exhibited, lectured, tutored, experimented, developed and learnt to carve marble which is very grown up. Over four decades she made many sculptures which are in collections worldwide.

Board Members

Barbara Beyer MRSS

Mark Burch (treasurer) 

Andrea Geile FRSS

Nick Hornby FRSS

Eugene Macki MRSS

Rebecca Newnham FRSS

Bill Price

Jane Reeves

Edwina Sassoon

Andrew Stonyer FRSS

Gordon Watson

Our Team

Caroline Worthington, Director

Caroline Worthington, Director

Caroline has worked with artists throughout her career as a curator. She brings a wealth of experience gained while leading two independent, non-profit organisations. As Chief Executive of Bexley Heritage Trust for six years, she ran two historic houses and introduced a contemporary art programme, featuring the work of artists including Gavin Turk, Laura Ford, and Joana Vasconcelos among others. Prior to that she was the Director of the Florence Nightingale Museum on London’s South Bank, where she raised funds and oversaw a complete redesign and re-launch in 2010. 

Caroline became Vice Chair of the Association of Independent Museums (AIM) in 2020 and a Trustee of Pitzhanger Manor & Gallery Trust in January 2021.


Lorraine Pajak, Awards and Events Manager

Lorraine Pajak, Awards and Events Manager

Lorraine has a background in commercial galleries, museums and arts membership organisations. Her experience includes managing an art libraries society based at the National Art Library, Victoria & Albert Museum. Lorraine holds a BA (Hons) in History and Theory of Art and an MA in Arts Policy and Management.

Lorraine is Vice Chair of the Belvedere Community Centre.


Andrea Arnold, Head of Finance

Andrea Arnold, Head of Finance

Andrea has a background in financial management across advisory, commercial and non-profit organisations.  In addition to her professional qualifications, she has a BA in Fine Art from Central Saint Martins and an MFA Fine Art from Wimbledon College of Art. 


Works Monday / Thursday

Maria Marro-Perera, Membership & Communications Manager

Maria Marro-Perera, Membership & Communications Manager

Maria has a background in commercial as well as non-profit arts organisations including membership networks. She has an MA in History of Art from UCL and a Post-Graduate Diploma from the Courtauld Institute of Art.


Our Volunteers

 The Society is also supported by a fantastic team of volunteers and we welcome applications from anyone wishing to get actively involved with our work.

Setting up an exhibition