The Royal Society of Sculptors champions sculpture and the artists who create it. We are committed to making the full range of contemporary practice accessible to all and also to promoting high professional and creative standards. 

As such, our work is overseen by our Board, which elects the majority of its members from our community of artists. The remaining members are drawn from other professions and contribute expertise across a range of fields.

Chaired by the President, the Board comprises the Vice President, the Treasurer and up to eleven others, all elected for a three-year term.

The Board is responsible for defining the Society’s strategic vision, policy, procedures and programme. The sculptor members of the Board also review applications to the Society and select new members.

The Society is committed to equality and diversity and has appointed Nicola Anthony MRSS as Board champion for diversity.

Diversity Policy

President - Laura Ford PRSS

Laura Ford studied at Bath Academy of Art between 1978-82 including a period at the Cooper Union School of Art, New York. Then completed an MA at Chelsea School of art 1982-83.Her work is represented in many public collections including; Tate, The Victoria and Albert Museum, Government Art Collection.

Laura's  sculptures are faithful representations of fantasy with sometimes bitter sweet and menacing qualities mixed with tenderness. She uses humour and an acute observation of the human condition to engage with wider social and political issues. Her work is intensely crafted but playful, and she has used a range of media to realise her work including, drawing, painting, performance, set design and has increasingly taken on the challenge of public art alongside museum and gallery shows.

Laura Ford PRSS

Laura Ford PRSS

Vice President - Almuth Tebbenhoff VPRSS

Almuth Tebbenhoff was born in Germany in 1949, came to England in 1966 as a student exchange and stayed. She studied ceramics at Sir John Cass School of Art 1972-5, made pots and surreal clay sculpture. In 1981 Almuth set up a studio in Wandsworth and expanded her practice to include metal fabrication. For a while she worked very minimalistic then developed her own style.

Since 1980 Almuth has exhibited, lectured, tutored, experimented, developed and learnt to carve marble which is very grown up. Over four decades she made many sculptures which are in collections worldwide.

Almuth Tebbenhoff

Board Members